WKT to proj conversion

Lately I have searched hard something I had in front of my eyes: I wanted to convert WKT text to proj4 definition. Search for “wkt2proj” didn’t really made it:-) But I found it, it’s name is testepsg and is part of gdal/ogr. It is not present in default build, but i.e. FWTools has it.

It basically converts WKT stored in .prj file into more formats: formated WKT, simplified WKT, old WKT and finally proj4 text.

testepsg ESRI::tmp/mywkt.prj

Hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

